New Zealand beat Australia to win Rugby World Cup 2015

© into sport photography, Shutterstock
All Black Dan Carter

NEW ZEALAND have become the first ever team to win two Rugby World Cups back to back after a storming encounter with Australia on Saturday.

The All Blacks ended with a 34-17 victory after holding back an Australian comeback. The game saw legends taking to the field, some for the last time, and is already being called a World Cup Classic. Ma´a Nonu was among the try scorers in the first half and New Zealand went 21-3 in front.

David Pocock, who has been pivotal for the Wallabies all tournament, helped Australia to get back into the match with a try. In the last quarter it was Dan Carter for New Zealand who scored a drop goal to move the All Blacks closer to a record win.


New Zealand held on and after a late try moments before the end the celebrations were already starting in the stands. The best team of the tournament lifted the trophy and also became the first side to win the World Cup trophy three times.

Captain Richie McCaw and Number 10 Dan Carter were outstanding for New Zealand and Carter was named World Rugby player of the year on Sunday.

Carter is retiring from international rugby after scoring a record tally of 1,598 points in 112 appearances.

The All Blacks also won the team of the year and Australia’s Michael Cheika was awarded coach of the year.

Richie McCaw summed up the challenge of defending a World Cup title, “we said four years ago that we’d get on the road again with this being the end goal, try and do something no-one else has done. I’m so proud of the guys.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here