Belarusian opposition awarded 2020 Sakharov Prize


BELARUSIAN opposition awarded 2020 Sakharov Prize by European Parliament.

Belarus’s democratic opposition has been awarded the European Parliament’s 2020 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought.

-- Advertisement --

“It is an honor to announce that the women and men of the democratic opposition in Belarus are the 2020 Sakharov Prize laureates,” European Parliament President David Sassoli told European lawmakers.

He spoke of an “initiative of brave women” including opposition leader Svetlana Tikhanovskaya, Nobel Laureate Svetlana Alexievich, musician and political activist Maryia Kalesnikava, and political activists Volha Kavalkova and Veranika Tsapkala.

The ongoing political demonstrations in Belarus against the government and Alexander Lukashenko were sparked in the wake of the country’s presidential election in August. The country experienced huge anti-government unrest after critics claimed Lukashenko rigged the vote.

The prize will be awarded in a ceremony at the European Parliament on 16 December.

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is named after Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov.

It was established in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations that defend human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Last year the prize was awarded to Uyghur economist Ilham Tohti.



Thank you for taking the time to read this news article “Belarusian Opposition Awarded 2020 Sakharov Prize”. For more UK daily news, Spanish daily news and Global news stories, visit the Euro Weekly News home page.

Euro Weekly News is delighted to continue be able to bring you a range of News from around Spain in English and Global News live as it happens.

Euro Weekly News doesn’t cost you anything but your internet connection. Whether it’s bringing you the local Spanish news or the International news today, we’ve got you covered!

Euro Weekly News, the leading free local and national newspaper in Spain, the people’s paper, we lead others follow!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here