A DATE FOR YOUR DIARY: National holidays in Spain for 2019 announced

BREAK TIMES: Eight of the holidays will be celebrated on the same day CREDIT: Shutterstock

SPAIN’S General Directorate of Labour has announced the dates for the country’s 12 national public holidays, eight of which will be held on the same date in every region.

Two of the 12 holidays, Three Kings Day on January 6 and the Day of the Immaculate Conception on December 8, fall on a Sunday.

It is up to Spain’s autonomous communities to decide on whether to carry the holiday to the following Monday or hold it on a different day, the Directorate said.


The eight holidays held in common are New Years Day on Tuesday January 1, Good Friday on April 19, Labour Day on Wednesday May 1, the Assumption of Mary feast on August 15, the National Festival of Spain on Saturday October 12, All Saints Day on Friday November 1, Constitution Day on Thursday December 6 and Christmas Day on Wednesday December 25.

The regions of Andalucia, Aragon, Asturias, the Canary Islands, Castilla y Leon, Extremadura, Madrid, Murcia, Navarra, Ceuta and Melilla have chosen Monday January 7 as Three Kings Day.

The Immaculate Conception will be celebrated on Monday December 9 in Andalucia, Aragon, Asturias, Cantabria, Castilla y Leon, Extremadura, La Rioja, Madrid, and Melilla. All other regions have chosen to use the extra for other holidays in the year.

Holy Thursday on April 18 will be a holiday in all of Spain’s autonomous communities except Cataluña and Valencia, who will mark holiday week from Friday 19 to Monday 22.

Holy Week runs from Thursday 18 to Monday 22 in Cantabria, Castilla-La Mancha, La Rioja, Navarra and the Basque Country. All others will celebrate it between Thursday 18 and Sunday 21.

The list does not include regional and local holidays.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here