World Cup 2014 draw

Photo by Juan Ramon Rodrigez Sosa
Spain 2010 World Cup winners

The World Cup draw was held on December 6 to nearly as much media attention as the matches themselves. England has been drawn alongside Uruguay, Costa Rica and Italy in Goup D. Their first match will be against Italy on June 15.  Spain will be up against the Netherlands, Chile and Australia in Group B.  Iker Casillas, goalkeeper for Real Madrid and Spain, has said at a press conference that he is expecting defence to be tough this year as every side will be gunning for Spain as current champions and because they have been drawn against the Netherlands for the first match.

Group A – Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B – Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia


Group C – Colombia, Greece, Cote d’Ivoire, Japan

Group D – Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E – Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F – Argentian, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G – Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H – Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korean Republic


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here